“Poco Kitty” could give better advice!

Notes from Alexis: Well syndication is “done” and she is back to books, with clearer thinking.

2-25-85

Dearest Lex,

Well, this is a letter I am finding difficult to write. It is hard for me to admit I was (am) wrong, but now is ‘confessing time’. I have been wrong about the newspaper column, and therefore the business idea.

A curious thing happened on the way to syndication – J. didn’t print one column. A small thing you might think, but large beyond imagining, in other ways. You see what happened was I got mad because he didn’t tell me, when I should have gotten mad because he didn’t print.

This set me to thinking, and finally I got it. I have walked all around it, and now I see that the column didn’t matter. I could write it or not, and I didn’t care. This bothered me exceedingly. I should have cared. Why am I writing something that doesn’t matter? Good question, and no ready answer.

One thing that popped right up in front of me was that while I wrote the column, I was distracted from the other writing. Perhaps I needed distracting, because the book was not going well. Actually the column has been a ‘Turning Point’ thing. There is no doubt that I will look back and see that when I wrote the column, I had set my foot on a different road, but that road is labelled ‘Books’ and not ‘About Books’. Remember, I did not see a stack of newspapers in my dream, but a stack of books.

I have 13 columns ahead and will give these to J., and I’ll go ahead with copyright procedures, which is good for practice, but then I’m through. I hope this will not disappoint you too much, but in any case my decision is final. When I reach the last 4 columns, I will write J. a letter and sever our arrangement. He did me a great favor by publishing the column, and then a greater one by not publishing. He is one of those people that come into our lives to do us favors; while not being part of our lives, in any manner. Curious, yes?

In a lighter vein, I got the “How To Syndicate Your Own Newspaper Column” and if you had listened, you could have heard me yelling across the state of Oregon, I was so furious! I sat right down and wrote them a letter. There was nothing in that newspaper column that ‘Poco kitty’ couldn’t have told me.

Well, will stop for now. Loved your letter, and the hope for a job. Does this mean you can quit driving the old folks?

I wish we lived close enough so Dad could help you. He is driving me nuts, he sits and stares at me, wanting me to find something for him to do.

Love,

Mom

