Non-Communicators Bore Me!

Notes from Alexis: She is tired of “Non-Communicators,” you can hardly blame the woman, we all like those who share more of their world.

2-14-85

Dearest Lex,

Happy Valentine’s! Funny, isn’t it, how little attention I pay to these manufactured occasions. My mind is just not attuned to them, and I wouldn’t have remembered if I hadn’t written the date on this letter. It amazes me a dab that others take them so seriously. I suppose it is a little like Monopoly… if you are going to play the game (America – Twentieth Century) you are going to abide by the rules.

Well, by now you have gotten your Keno Star newspaper, and saw that the column wasn’t there. It took me a day, but I finally decided exactly how I feel. It made me mad! Quietly and permanently angry. Not that J. didn’t publish it this week, but that we were over there Sunday, and he knew then that the column would not run this week, and he didn’t say a word.

I told you there is ‘no communication’ between us, and now you see what I mean. I just suddenly decided I am tired of J., and I’m not going to give him any more columns. So where does that leave us? I asked Dad, what he thought about “Aurora”(the name I have given the business as a whole). He said he thought it was exciting. (Did he strike you as excited? Interested?)

Boy, I’m telling you these non-communicators bore me. I’m really good at making up dialogue for my characters, but I find it tiresome to have to do it for real, with walking around human people.

You know something? I like making decisions. Going around in a haze full of doubt, is my idea of ‘no fun’. Resolving things is a lot like doing dishes or cleaning house – it never truly gets done, but it’s a whole lot better than ‘not doing’.

The house and the head are clean and clear for a while.

Will stop now as I have to go to town and do a few errands.

Love,

Mom

